Scraps Project: Peg Hangers

peg-hangers-header

In hindsight, I should have just made my wooden mantle 6ft wide – it’s a basic size that lumber comes in – but because I made it 5.5ft, I have some 6″ scraps hanging around.

And I use scraps.

I’ve had the idea for a while to make a wall-hanging holder for my maple cooking spoons (I love them so~), but these pieces of wood were too small for such.  We do, however, have only a little open counter space and a lot of free wall space in the kitchen, so up go the utensils we use often!

peg-hangers-1

This was an incredibly simple project.  Take your scrap wood, find pegs you like, drill holes into the scrap wood the same diameter as the pegs, insert/gently hammer in the pegs.  Aesthetics aside, this took about 2 minutes.  You can easily attach them to the wall with Command strips or frame-hanging kits.  I painted mine with acrylic paint using masking tape to get the straight edge (though I would say use actual painter’s tape for better results) and put a dab of hot glue into the drilled holes just before the pegs to make sure they stay put.  The pegs were the only thing I had to buy and they were $2 at Hobby Lobby (before 40% off coupon).

peg-hangers-2

I’ve had this little dreamcatcher charm from Hallmark (so you know it’s sappy) on a hook for months now, but this helps it to pop out against the expanse of my bedroom wall.  Obviously you can paint/stain/design the wood however you choose.

Hope you enjoyed my afternoon craft mayhem.  Until next time!
Kriscious

Have a feeling about this? Leave a reply!

