Shrinky Dink Tags

on

A while ago, Rysa went on a school trip to San Francisco, CA and brought me back a stuffed owl (whom I have since named Ghirardelli, after the chocolate company which has a factory/store in SF, which she also went to).  I’ve had her travel tags wrapped around his neck to remind me to make smaller, cuter ones for his “collar,” but I didn’t whip out the stuff until today.

Owl travel tags

For those who don’t know, Shrinky Dinks are a type of shrinkable plastic.  They come in sheets like paper (opaque or clear, as well as those meant to be printed on from a computer).  You make your design, cut it out, pop it in a 325F oven for 2.5-3 minutes, and they pull together and shrink into a thicker, stiff little piece of plastic.  I’ve messed with them in the past, but they’re a great little pastime and come out adorably small.

Owl travel tags 3

For your reference, the little white tag was made the same size/shape as the big one; the pink one was made slightly shorter than it’s original because I was using a piece that had already been cut.  Both of their tiny holes were made with an average hole-punch.  The white material does become very opaque when shrunk, but it is slightly transparent beforehand, which makes tracing easier.  Water-soluable markers and pencils do not work well on the material; I’d stick with Sharpies and other permanent markers.

Owl travel tags 2

That’s all for now, I hope you enjoyed!  Have yourself a great day!
Kriscious

5 Comments Add yours

  1. What a great idea for a craft, I love these tags and must give this a try too.. Thank you for the lovely post and I love the stuffed owl too.. So cute !

    Take care, Laura

    Like

    1. kriscious says:

      You’re very welcome and I’m glad you liked it! It’s been on my to-do list for a while, so I’ve had the tags in the middle of my living room for a couple months to remind me. I’d love to see pictures if you do something similar!
      Kriscious

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Kriscious, that’s funny you said your tags were in the middle of your living room as a reminder… I have the same thing in the middle of my dining room ~ a clay figure doll I’ve been working on since winter, I just need to finish the face.. Great Crafting Minds Think Alike !

        I’ll put up a post when I make something like your tags … excited to play around with this medium.. Take care, Laura

        Liked by 1 person

  2. atkokosplace says:

    Adorable! Cutest thing I’ve seen all day!!!!

    Like

    1. kriscious says:

      So glad you liked it!

      Liked by 1 person

Have a feeling about this? Leave a reply!

