Garden Deaths (eek!)

Last week, as I previously posted, I went out of town to visit my family for various celebrations.  It didn’t occur to me that seven days with my family would mean seven days without water for my poor garden.  (Rysa was out of town for it, too.)  I’m watering them as best as I can to rejuvenate their withered little bodies, but there is only so much that can be done at this stage.  (Oh, look, my black thumb is back.  I wondered where it went.)

In the wake of this devastation, I took the opportunity to plant new things.  A hanging pot (that, long ago, had carrots) is now seeded for Sweet Pea flowers and the former cabbage patch is prepped for okra.  I’m soaking the seeds before putting them in the ground; no need to push my luck.  I plan to try for 2 okra plants in that space.  Grandmom’s okra fry, here I come!

In other news, the shallot I planted in the “canvas grow bag” is probably in the best condition of all of them!  Fun fact: the canvas looks like it’s molding  a little on the outside… so it’s not the prettiest thing.  Definitely go for the weed fabric if you’re able to.

That’s all for now!  Hope you have a great week and the weekend finds you well.
Kriscious

3 Comments Add yours

  1. I am sorry to hear about the loss of your plants. The capture of the shallot is awesome!

    Like

    1. kriscious says:

      Thank you for your sympathies. I really do have a black thumb; last year was just a fluke. I’m glad you like the picture! I just can’t wait to harvest the shallots, instead of having to buy them at the store!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You are most welcome!

        Like

Have a feeling about this? Leave a reply!

