Crafting: Kitchen Knife Holder

Cook Nook knife holder

Rysa and I share a small kitchen.  From previous posts, I’m sure you’ve noticed that we like to cook a lot at home; this ultimately leads to needing a lot of counter space and it’s impossible to cook meals at the same time.  (For example, Rysa pulled out the blender from the cabinet last night and there was nowhere to set anything.)

I was washing the dish dryer mat today and realized just how much space our counter top things take up.  The microwave is the king space killer, but second would be Rysa’s knife set.  It’s a beautiful set she inherited from her parents, but we only use a select few (and my santoku isn’t even from the set) and the block took up a lot of space.  (Not to mention I have my parents’ set waiting for me at their house.)

So I got crafty.


Materials You Will Need:

  • 2 planks of wood
  • craft cork (or something you can use to make the separation between planks)
  • scissors/X-Acto knife
  • spraypaint (optional)
  • 2+ screws
  • 2-6 small nails / framing nails (as long as they’re long enough to go between both plants and their separators)
  • hammer & screwdriver
  • decoration (optional)
  • hot glue / gun

What To Do:

  1. If you want to color your holder, do this first.  I painted the front plank’s top and sides black and only the sides on the back plank (to show through).  Color it however you want: Mod Podge, spray paint, deco tape, etc.  Save extra designs (my owl, for example) for later.
  2. I used craft cork to make the separators.  I cut four 3/4″ strips, doubled them over, and used hot glue to adhere them together.
  3. When the planks have dried, take your back plank and screw in 2 screws to mount to a wall.  (I don’t have / have access to a drill, so I used a nail to make the hole and screwed through that.)  Decide where you want your holder to hang.
  4. You will need to screw the holes for the holder into the wall, but then remove it to attach the front plank, so don’t screw it in too tight/permanently.
  5. Align the front plank over the free back plank and decide how you want them to sit.  I nailed mine together with tiny frame nails, then removed the nails.  PLEASE NOTE: If using nails, nail through the separators.  You don’t want the nails to block the slot for the knives!
  6. Once you have your desired alignment of the planks, you can decorate freely.
  7. Screw the back plank to the wall where it belongs.  Attach the front plank to the back with nails and/or hot glue.  (The necessary strength will come from what kind of weight your knives have.)
  8. Add your knives and voila!

Cook Nook icon

Please Note: I put the words the Cook Nook on my holder.  As far as I am aware, this is not a copyrighted name, I just wanted it to rhyme, so disclaimer, disclaimer, etc., etc.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. What a delightful idea for those knifes.. I must make one of these and thanks for the info on how you put it all together.. Bravo!

    Take care,
    Laura ~

    Like

    1. kriscious says:

      You’re very welcome, I’m glad you like it! I’d love to see pictures if you make any. :)

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Kriscious, I certainly will share with you when I get busy in the garage workshop, as soon as it warms up here in Canada a tad…. Take care

        Liked by 1 person

Have a feeling about this? Leave a reply!

