Eragon

Eragon, by Christopher Paolini

Eragon is a well-developed fantastical story about a 14-year-old orphan farmboy who stumbles across a dragon egg and becomes the heir to a dying race of warriors who once brought justice to the land. Paolini told this story with picturesque descriptions, physical and mental dialogue, the lore and languages of different races, and created a beautiful world of intrigue, political balances, and dragons. Dragons are the best.

This series was first published in 2002 and gained a massive following and a motion picture since. I regret to admit that I only purchased this book a couple months ago (Summer 2015) and shelved it when the dialogue overpowered my headache of the time. I picked it back up this morning and finished off all 480 pages!

A lot of people who’ve read the books hate the movie. I haven’t read the sequel yet, but as far as I can see, most of the changes in the movie weren’t enough to instill such bitter hatred. (I reserve the right to change my mind about this later.) Supposedly the biggest differences come in the sequels where the movie mucked things up too badly to make a movie sequel?

Overall, this is a well-developed story with fantastical-but-believable characters fighting for what they believe in.  Also, dragons.  Dragons are the best.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Thanks for a great review ☺️ I loved this book when I read it years ago and you have reminded me to re-read it lol. I don’t know why film makers decide to make major changes to book plots, it invariably ends up ruining it and meaning there is no interest in a sequel! xoxo

    Like

    1. kriscious says:

      I’m glad my review was inspiring, especially to pick up a loved book! I TORE through it yesterday. Can’t believe I waited so long. ;)

      Liked by 1 person

Have a feeling about this? Leave a reply!

